The dust has finally settled on what has been a truly memorable year of Metro racing. A new sponsor in Hickford Construction and a new media partnership with MySuperCar meant a year of change for the MG Metro Cup, but it has been one that has proven a success both on and off track.

So, with emotions running high as the teams and drivers arrived at Snetterton for the season finale, some things were guaranteed – excitement, drama, speed, and a bloody great big knee’s up.

And that is exactly what happened on Saturday night with a party atmosphere ringing around the Norfolk circuit – apologies if we kept anyone awake.

Party Time!

However, as the sun rose the next day, it was time for the Snetterton track action.


With the title on the line, Mark Eales was eager to get things going and led the Metro’s out of the assembly area and never looked back. On the third lap, Eales put in a 2:23.174 which never looked like being beaten and never was.

Eales titles rivals Tim Shooter and Dan Willars lined up second and seventh respectively with Robbie Kenning in his debut season causing huge excitement in the commentary box by putting in a 2:26.637 to line up third.

In only his second qualifying session, Ben Williams once again showed incredible talent by lining up fourth for a 2021 season debutant second row lockout.

Dick Trevett filling in for Kyla Birdseye qualified in 11th while Neil Burnett and Pete Coleman resumed their friendly rivalry starting 15th and 16th. Unfortunately, due to terminal engine damage to Dick Trevett’s car, it meant his weekend came to an early end at the end of qualifying.  

Qualifying Results

Race One

As the lights went out, it was Mark Eales who carried on from where he left off in qualifying and led into the first corner. Robbie Kenning slipped back whilst Tim Shooter, Phil Goodwin, and Ben Williams commenced a race-long battle that saw Williams make it a second podium in three races in third whilst Shooter held on to second by 0.2s over the line.

That was the fascinating story at the sharp end of the race but a little further back it was Dan Willars who was fighting back after a slow start and was closing in on Phil Goodwin in the closing stages. Unfortunately, he ran out of laps as Goodwin took fourth with Willars ending fifth. Sadly, fifth meant Willars title chances also slipped away.

Sadly, Richard Garrard retired from the race on lap three whilst Pete Coleman and Neil Burnett’s battle came to an early end as Burnett retired on lap four along with Les Tyler.

Jon Moore, Tim Davies, Terry Wood, and Robbie Kenning produced a stunning display chopping and changing throughout the race and came home sixth, seventh, eighth, and ninth respectively.

Rob Jessop came home in tenth, five seconds ahead of Tony Howe with David Javes in Twelfth, Pete Coleman in thirteenth, and Andrew Youens in fourteenth.

Race one Results

Race Two

Race two was similar to race one for Mark Eales as we raced away from the line and never looked like relinquishing the lead. He didn’t either as Eales made it yet again another pair of wins and to wrap up the 2021 championship in style.

However, behind Eales drama was unfolding. Tim Shooter, Ben Williams, and Phil Goodwin were dueling over third-place until Shooter and Williams pulled a small gap to Goodwin in fifth. Things soon unfolded though as Williams dived down the inside of Shooter into Riches and contact was made.

Fortunately, Shooter was able to continue but dropped down fourth but unfortunately, Williams was unable to keep going and retired the car.

This promoted Phil Goodwin to second and Dan Willars to third which is where they would end the race with Shooter in fourth.

Sadly Richard Garrard, Dick Trevett, and Les Tyler were unable to event start the race and alongside Ben Williams, David Javes, Robbie Kenning, and Jon Moore all retired from race two.

However, Tim Davies was the next runner over the line in fifth with Rob Jessop sixth, Terry Wood seventh, and Tony Howe eighth.

As usual, Neil Burnett and Pete Coleman treated us to another friendly battle in which Burnett eventually came out on top in ninth with Andrew Youens ending the Snetterton race in eleventh.

Race Two Results

And so, the on track for the Hickford Construction Ltd MG Metro Cup season drew to a close at Snetterton but keep your eyes peeled for more live shows and plenty of Metro content before the year is out.

Find out more about the Hickford Construction Ltd MG Metro Cup here.

    Tags: , ,

    Leave a Reply